2010 Big Eat SF: No. 40 (Taylor’s), 16 (Muracci’s), 80 (Bob’s)

This week I did a fair share more eating than cooking and checked off three items from 7×7 Magazine’s 2010 Big Eat SF.

First up: No. 40: Cheeseburger with sweet potato fries at Taylor’s Automatic Refresher

This wasn’t actually this week but last week. It was my colleague Lex’s birthday–and a ridiculously sunny February day in San Francisco–so we walked over to the Ferry Building to sit outside and enjoy lunch at Taylor’s. I often like its mini corn dogs and was tempted by the kimchee burger special but decided to go for this classic combination: cheeseburger and sweet potato fries. The best part (unfortunately not pictured in my quick snap) was the sauce that accompanies the sweet potato fries: a slightly creamy cilantro concoction that perfectly satiated my omnipresent appetite for mayonnaise and French fries. (I vehemently believe that it is not worth eating French fries if they’re not accompanied by mayonnaise. It’s something I picked up when I lived in Quebec.)

On to foods I ate this week. I was very excited to find, while reading over the list the other day, that No. 16 was katsu curry from Muracci’s Japanese Curry & Grill. Muracci’s is nestled in the small storefront that once housed an amazing little hand-held pie shop. I truly lamented its closing and have had a sad association with the location ever since. Also, I was skeptical about the authenticity of this curry spot. (The logo is a bit goofy.) So I was thrilled when I saw Murraci’s on the Big Eat SF list and decided that it was the next place I’d go when I didn’t bring my lunch with me to work–which I made Wednesday.

I trekked through a downpour to the shop and was welcomed by a wafting aroma of spicy sauces and a slightly crowded space filled with friends eating at the counters and many more waiting for their take away. As recommended, I ordered the katsu curry–spicy, with brown rice.

It was an amazing coincidence that I chose Wednesday for Muracci Day. I happened to be wearing my favorite dress from Tokyo, had stumbled upon a blog about living in Japan that morning (which made me miss the archipelago), and was just overall having an I-want-to-go-back-to-Japan kind of day. Muracci’s was the perfect fix.

The gigantic serving–I had enough to eat it again for lunch on Thursday–featured a heaping pile of brown rice topped with the pan-fried, breaded pork and served with pickles and the sauce on the side. It was so delicious and just the perfect balance of spice and flavor. I’ll definitely be going back again soon–especially since we’re moving offices in May and will be just four blocks away. Danger, danger!

Finally, I finished my trifecta with No. 80: An apple fritter from Bob’s Donut. Warning to all attempting to make their way through the foods on the Big Eat list: Bob’s apple fritter is not intended for one person. I made the bad, bad decision of eating an entire one myself. This apple fritter is probably the best donut you will ever eat. Such treasures should be shared. Trust me. 😉

That’s it for now. Happy eating!

2 Responses to “2010 Big Eat SF: No. 40 (Taylor’s), 16 (Muracci’s), 80 (Bob’s)”


  1. 1 Cheap Flights 12/19/2013 at 6:33 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of
    your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will
    definitely comeback.

  2. 2 Airline Tickets 01/20/2014 at 5:26 pm

    Superb post however , I was wondering if you could
    write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you
    could elaborate a little bit further. Bless you!


Leave a Reply

