Mini Quiche in Prosciutto Cups

I spent the 13 hours between 8 p.m. Wednesday until 9 a.m. Thursday (minus those spent sleeping) making irresistibly cute, tiny things. Pertinent to this blog: mini quiche in prosciutto cups.

Far less pertinent: Sewing a cosmetic bag for one of my very best friends out here who is getting married next month. I found this pattern online about a year ago and made a small tote to hold my sewing accessories. I obviously must have altered the pattern back then because my case can hold two sizable handfuls of notions whereas the one I made Wednesday night only fits into the palm of one of my hands. It’s so adorable, though, and is the perfect size for tucking in a purse or suitcase. (I’ll likely be making some of these pouches in a variety of sizes for Owl In Bag, the Etsy site I launched with my friend Tara, in the near future.)

Back to the baking.

Several months ago while I was at the laundromat—or “launderette” as my mom likes to call it—I picked up a copy of Self magazine that someone had left on a seat. It was the December 2009 issue so the back of the book was filled with recipes for tasty little treats perfect for bringing to potlucks. The mini quiche caught my eye.

Then I went to the Philippines and Japan for the most wonderful three-week vacation and completely forgot about mini quiche cooked in cups made out of what is essentially fancy bacon.

Until this week.

I’m not quite sure why, but on Monday I was struck with a strong urge to find the recipe and bake the tiny tarts. Thanks to Google’s search suggestions (but certainly not my memory) I found it. I first attempted to look for the recipe on a different magazine’s website and then tried to track it down by using “pancetta” and not “prosciutto” as my keyword. Oops.

Recipe in hand, I headed to the grocery Thursday morning before picking up my CSA box at a local coffee shop. I had enough time to do these errands, get ready for work, and cook the quiche before heading out the door but not really enough time to lay out all my fresh vegetables in bowls and take pretty pictures of them as well. I obviously attempted to do that though. A picture, however, is worth a thousand words—and having to walk extra fast to get to the office.

Once I put away my CSA goods (new this week: red and orange beets!), it was incredibly quick and easy to make the bite-size beauties: Put prosciutto in each of the divots in a mini muffin tin; whisk together eggs and add in Greek yogurt, chopped black olives, rosemary, salt, and pepper; and bake. I decided not to cut my slices of prosciutto in half (they weren’t holding together very well lengthwise) and just folded the pieces in half, end to end, before lining each indentation—the idea being the more the merrier. I don’t think I’d do that again: The quiche came out a bit to salty for my taste.

Everything else, however, was incredible. The prosciutto cooked into crispy cups, the eggs and filling became light and fluffy, and, topped with a sprig of rosemary on each quiche, the whole display was quite beautiful. (Rob, who was the lucky recipient of the leftovers, joked that they looked like little pineapples.)

But now, I believe, I have exhausted my energy for cute and tiny things. Next up, an adaptation of my mom’s upside-down cranberry pecan coffee cake: an upside-down brown sugar, banana, and pecan-topped banana bread. It’s going to be good.

11 Responses to “Mini Quiche in Prosciutto Cups”


  1. 1 Anonymous 03/12/2010 at 4:25 pm

    Yummy! I want to make those! Thx for sharing 🙂

  2. 2 Pow 03/14/2010 at 5:48 pm

    looks great!! can you mail me some? hahaha!!

  3. 3 miyokoeats 03/16/2010 at 3:19 pm

    Anonymous: Thanks for the comment! Hope you give them a try!
    Pow: Come visit! I will make a fresh batch for you!

  4. 4 iphone screen repair pj 05/06/2013 at 11:30 am

    Excellent web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  5. 5 http://iphonerepairmalaysia.overblog.com/top-rated-quality-repair-iphone-4s-malaysia-first-class-customer-care 05/28/2013 at 6:07 am

    Paragraph writing is also a fun, if you be familiar with afterward you can
    write or else it is difficult to write.

  6. 6 Power Freedom System Scam 08/04/2014 at 12:30 pm

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday.

    It will always be exciting to read articles from other authors
    and practice a little something from their websites.

  7. 7 Myrtle U. Hanno 09/24/2014 at 7:00 am

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re
    saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it smart.
    I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great site.

  8. 8 Madelene N. Braver 10/02/2014 at 7:25 am

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and
    I am inspired! Very helpful information particularly the closing phase 🙂 I care for such
    info a lot. I used to be seeking this particular info for a very lengthy time.

    Thanks and best of luck.

  9. 9 Hana M. Coroniti 10/09/2014 at 9:33 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I honestly believe that this amazing site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be back again to
    read more, thanks for the info!

  10. 10 server room cooling 11/17/2016 at 11:39 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on spy cameras in glasses.
    Regards


  1. 1 New Mag: Dwell Kitchen « Tall Dark Roast Trackback on 08/07/2010 at 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

