Upside-down Pecan Banana Bread Cake

Under this silver dome is an upside-down, banana-topped, brown-sugar-topped!, pecan-topped!!, fully baked banana-bread cake. (You must watch the beginning of this clip of Julia Child preparing to “be the big boss of the big cheese souffle” in an episode of The French Chef to understand where I’m coming from. It’s so good. Really. Just go watch the first 30 seconds then come back.)

My upside-down pecan banana bread cake under a silver dome of tin foil

As promised (at the bottom of this post), I baked an adaptation of my mom’s upside-down cranberry pecan coffee cake this weekend before my friends Cait and Sarah arrived for a weeklong vacation. I went to work after purchasing yet another box of butter. I’ve gone through more butter in the last two weeks than in the past six months–though fortunately I have not been consuming it all myself.

Ingredients for the upside-down pecan banana bread cake

I really need an electric beater. I joke about what an arm workout it is to beat butter and sugar by hand until fluffy but I will certainly state that whisking bananas and sugar by hand until light, fluffy, and creamy makes the former look like a piece of cake (which it did, of course, turn into, but you get my pun). I said on Saturday that that was it, I’m getting an electric beater, but truth be told, I’m more likely to just end up with one very strong tricep than with an electric beater. There are more important things to get, like spice racks.

Back to baking: To make this cake, I combined the topping recipe for the cranberry pecan coffee cake (the butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon sauce with chopped pecans and banana slices, instead of cranberries) and a recipe for a banana-pecan loaf that I found on The Food Network‘s site.

The topping in the springform pan before baking

The topping in the bottom of the springform pan before baking

The batter also in the pan (on top of the topping) before baking

It all came together quite easily–though I almost blew it when I ran out to get toothpicks (with which to test the cake) ten minutes before it was finished baking. Had I come back from the store just one or two minutes later, the bottom of the cake would definitely have blackened. But I got there just in time. Phew. The other near-disaster came when I flipped the cake over. The sauce started pouring down the sides and I was pretty sure that when I removed the top/bottom of the pan, the bananas were going to slide right off. For a moment it certainly did look as though that was going to happen, but in the end, it all stayed put.

Out of the oven and all in one piece

The one other thing I was nervous about was how it was going to taste and if the topping would suit the bread well or be too sweet. I let the cake cool to room temperature overnight and made a great reveal for Cait and Sarah on Sunday morning after we returned to my apartment from the airport . Oh man, it was amazing. The flavors and textured balanced well together and it was a hit, if I can say so myself. I’ll definitely be baking this cake again.

The cake sliced and partially eaten

Sarah and Cait eating the cake, which is most delicious shared with good friends

10 Responses to “Upside-down Pecan Banana Bread Cake”


  1. 1 Shelby 05/24/2013 at 11:22 am

    What’s up, for all time i used to check website posts here in the early hours in the break of day, because i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and more.

  2. 2 Treppenaufzug Mieten 06/02/2013 at 4:00 pm

    I every time used to study paragraph in news papers but now
    as I am a user of net thus from now I am using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  3. 3 cheap stairlifts 07/02/2013 at 10:44 am

    I was more than happy to find this page. I need to
    to thank you for ones time for this particularly wonderful read!
    ! I definitely savored every part of it and I have you saved
    to fav to look at new things in your website.

  4. 4 cheap yachts online 07/20/2013 at 7:46 pm

    If you wish for to obtain much from this post
    then you have to apply such techniques to your won web site.

  5. 5 http://terryhatchellest.com/why-you-need-a-sales-funnel/ 07/27/2013 at 3:45 pm

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  6. 6 http://apiedeobra.wordpress.com/ 08/02/2013 at 10:58 pm

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for
    computer financing for people with bad credit

  7. 7 best Watches Online 08/05/2013 at 7:20 am

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!


  1. 1 seo Trackback on 08/22/2014 at 8:33 pm
  2. 2 myositis awareness day Trackback on 09/23/2014 at 7:10 am
  3. 3 top iphone games 2015 rpg Trackback on 08/23/2015 at 7:44 pm

Leave a Reply

