Couscous-Egg Souffle with Prosciutto and Frisee

Rob, the beau, has nominated my house for one Michelin star. Not officially, of course, but it’s sweet and supportive and makes me laugh. Plus, I am pretty proud of my latest concoction: the Couscous-Egg Souffle with Prosciutto and Frisee.

Close up of the Couscous-Egg Souffle with Prosciutto and Frisee

Technically, it is not a souffle (there is no fancy rising or puffing up involved) but that is the closest descriptor I could find, it sounds nice, and I didn’t want to call it a “crustless quiche.”

Like with most of my recipes, this one came together one part direct inspiration (divined from the other day’s mini quiche in prosciutto cups), the other part just an excited idea that suddenly popped into my head. The thought struck me last week: I wonder if I bake uncooked couscous in an egg mixture in the oven, if the couscous will absorb the liquid of the eggs and cook.

My first stop, as it so often is these cooking days, was at the hardware store. I wanted to cook the couscous and eggs so that they’d become a circular egg cake (like a little fritter or pattie) I could flip upside-down and top with prosciutto and frisee so I picked up two five-inch quiche plates.

The quiche plates in hand, I headed home and made up the following recipe:

Couscous-Egg Souffle with Prosciutto and Frisee

Yield: 1

Ingredients:

1 egg
1 egg white
2 tablespoons Greek yogurt
Chopped spinach, as desired
Salt
Pepper
1 tablespoon couscous, uncooked

Prosciutto, frisee, and Parmigiano cheese for topping

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375F. Whisk eggs until mixed. Whisk in yogurt, spinach, salt, and pepper. Stir in couscous. Spray quiche plate with non-stick cooking spray. Pour egg mixture into plate. Place the plate on a baking sheet and then into oven. Cook for 10 minutes or until egg mixture has solidified. Remove from oven and let cool one to two minutes. Carefully flip the quiche plate containing the egg cake upside-down onto the serving plate to transfer the egg cake. (This may take a bit of coaxing.) Top with prosciutto and frisee. Add Parmigiano cheese and pepper to taste.

The egg cake before I flipped it (with quite a bit of coaxing) onto my serving plate

To my delight, the couscous cooked quite well and, even better, it was wonderfully delicious. The egg cake was slightly crisp on the outside and just a tad oily from the cooking spray. The fresh frisee on top was light and the perfect complement to the egg. Prosciutto makes a good topping on anything but I might leave it off next time, only because the egg cake and frisee worked together in such a balanced harmony.

Best of all, the dish looked really fantastic–and by fantastic I mean fancy and Michelin-star-esque!

3 Responses to “Couscous-Egg Souffle with Prosciutto and Frisee”


  1. 1 Carren 03/17/2010 at 2:32 pm

    I love the backstory about your beau. Support is good indeed. 🙂


  1. 1 15 Quick And Delicious Egg Recipes For Babies Trackback on 12/14/2016 at 11:15 pm

Leave a Reply

