Miyoko’s Handmade Holiday Granola

Nothing says the holidays like home-cooked treats. Looking to send a some DIY gifts to a few friends and family this year, I whipped up a batch—my first-ever batch, to be precise—of what I’m now completely hooked on and have named Miyoko’s Homemade Holiday Granola.

I made 20 cups, which proved to be the perfect batch to make at once to avoid having leftover ingredients and to feed the resulting cravings for it that are sure to come. I’ve thus far just enjoyed it with milk but have been told it’s pretty fine with yogurt as well.

Since there are few things I enjoy more than wrapping up multiple gifts at the same time in the same way and looking at the results of my mini-manufacturing center, this was truly satisfying. I wrapped up the plastic-bagged bundles with ribbon and “Merry Christmas” ornaments.

Here’s the recipe, which is simple to adapt and alter as you wish.

Miyoko’s Homemade Holiday Granola

(adapted from Bon Appetit’s Everyday Granola recipe)

Ingredients:

6 cups old-fashioned oats

1 cup coarsely chopped pecans

1 cup coarsely chopped almonds

4 tablespoons (packed) brown sugar

1-1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1-1/2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/3 cup honey (or more maple syrup)

4 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 cup dried cranberries

1 cup dried cherries

1 cup dried pomegranates

Method:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit. Line rimmed backing sheet with parchment paper. Mix oats, pecans, almonds, brown sugar, cinnamon, ginger, and salt in a large bowl. Stir maple syrup, honey, and oil in a saucepan over medium-low heat until smoothed and mixed together. Pour liquid mixture over the oat mixture and toss. Spread on the prepared sheet (or sheets to keep from piling high). Bake until golden, stirring every 10 minutes, about 40 minutes. Place sheet on a rack. Stir granola then let cool. Mix in fruit. Store in an airtight container. Enjoy.

14 Responses to “Miyoko’s Handmade Holiday Granola”


  1. 1 danielle 01/04/2011 at 11:56 am

    This granola looks delicious! I was just thinking its time to make more granola- i love it on yogurt. Thanks for the recipe.

    For this holiday season I did something a bit different than i usually do for gifts. We made bath bombs like the type you can get from lush. The simple recipe is from this site: http://www.excellentlivingguide.com/2009/11/bath-bombers-unite/

  2. 2 miyokoeats 01/05/2011 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks, Danielle, for the comment and the link! Hope you like the granola.

  3. 3 danielle 01/11/2011 at 12:54 pm

    I ended up being out of town for the last week- so this weekend is when I will finally get to make some!

  4. 4 Sarah 02/10/2011 at 2:04 pm

    Hi Miyoko,

    It was so great to meet you on Sunday. I made the granola and it turned out fantastic. I used dried apricots and figs and it was amazing. Thank you. I am going to make the leftover pasta frittata next.

  5. 5 danielle 02/14/2011 at 6:28 am

    My 3year old daughter and i made this delicious granola for Valentine’s Day presents. We put them in little bags with red hearts! Thanks again for the recipe. I had it with Greek yogurt and frozen berries this morning.

  6. 6 miyokoeats 02/15/2011 at 9:31 am

    Sarah: It was so nice to meet you too! I had such a fun time chatting, and Kevin send me your blog and I’m enjoying reading that as well! I am going to make apricot almond granola soon and give the bars a try again with fruit as an adhesive (meant to buy dates but came home with prunes the other day…who knows, might work well!).

    Danielle: You totally melted my heart with your comment yesterday! I love that you made the granola as gifts! Thanks for reading and commenting. So nice!

  7. 7 how to get your ex boyfriend back for teenagers 04/30/2013 at 2:41 am

    What exactly is a cute method to flirt with my
    girlfriend?

  8. 8 home cure for hemorrhoids 05/23/2013 at 12:12 am

    Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Opera, it looks fine but
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some
    overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, great blog!

  9. 9 surgery journal 05/29/2013 at 12:22 pm

    When someone writes an post he/she retains the
    idea of a user in his/her mind that how a user can know it.
    So that’s why this paragraph is amazing. Thanks!

  10. 10 where to buy penny stocks 06/02/2013 at 7:14 am

    I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy I found this in my search for something relating to this.

  11. 11 Webhosting 07/05/2013 at 10:48 pm

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this brilliant blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for
    bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will talk
    about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  12. 12 affordable doctors in philly 07/27/2013 at 7:46 pm

    Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your further post thanks once again.

  13. 13 veterinary technition 04/08/2014 at 5:45 am

    Since the admin of this web site is working, no uncertainty very rapidly it will be well-known, due to its feature contents.


  1. 1 Combine Thyme Leaves Trackback on 04/25/2017 at 8:39 am

Leave a Reply

